If A Ping Pong Ball Hits You, Whose Point Is It?
Before people start to play ping pong ball, they must agree on the number of games. Therefore, any player that amasses 11 points wins any given game. As a result, each player must strive to win as many points as possible. Note that each of the players serves twice before allowing the opponent to serve. Also, the player must serve from the open palm. The ball is tossed in the air to a height of at least 6 inches. It is then struck so that it bounces off the receiver’s side. Thus, a player should use all the tricks to ensure that they earn more points.
If a ping pong ball hits you before hitting the ground, your opponent earns a point. However, this is only possible if the ball hits you before it passes the line marking the table’s end. Also, it should not hit the fingers and the part below the wrist.
Of course, there are many other rules that the two players need to follow. Amongst them is that you will win the game if you lead by two clear points. Also, if the two players are at par (10-10), they will start serving the ball once in turns until a 2 point lead is established. Read on to learn more about playing ping pong.
Is It Legal to Hit a Ping Pong Ball With Your Hand?
A player can use their hand to hit the ball. However, there are special rules that must be adhered to. Firstly, the hand that hits the ball must be the one that is holding the racket. Secondly, it should be the fingers or any part of the hand below the wrist. So you may return the ball with your wrist or any part of the bat without being penalized.
Also, you can hit the ball with the handle of the bat without being penalized. But you cannot drop the bat to allow you to hit the ball with your hand. The rule of thumb is that the hand that hits the ball must be holding the bat at some time.
But whether you plan to hit the ball with your hand or racket, you must wait for the ball to hit the side of your table first. You cannot hit the ball while still on the way and expect to earn a point. Hitting it while still on the way earns your opponent a point. It would be best if you allowed the ball to bounce on your table first before you strike it.
You can also hit the ball twice without being penalized. For instance, if the ball hits your fingers and bounces off to hit the bat, it is a double hit. In the past, you would lose a point if this happened. However, the rule has been relaxed, so it is no longer counted as a double hit.
If you want to further learn about the subject, I highly recommend that you read my article about can you hit the ping pong ball with your hand in table tennis.
What Happens If the Server Hits the Opponent?
You earn a point if you deliver a serve that hits your opponent before it rolls out of play. The receiver has the choice to stand where he wants to either intimidate you or prepare to return the serve. So if the ball hits a person standing in your partner’s court on a bounce, you earn a point because it is deemed that a wrong receiver has touched the ball. But if he stands out of the court and the ball hits him, you treat it as an out serve.
Read also: Why Do Table Tennis Players Serve Weird? (Secret Benefits)
How Does a Player Get Started In Table Tennis?
It is easier to get started in playing table tennis, even if you are a beginner. All you need is a table, a racket and a ball. In some cases, you do not even need to buy expensive equipment. Also, you can play table tennis in doubles or singles. All you need is to join your colleague at a local club and enjoy the game.
Typically, once you have identified your partner, you need to agree on who serves fast. The player will then stand behind the edge of the table and strike the ball. The ball bounces into your opponent’s court. If the opponent returns it, you must continue playing. But if you serve and it goes into the net without passing over into your competitor’s court, your opponent earns a point. But if you serve the ball, hit the net but go over, it is considered a let, and you will be free to take it again without being penalized.
Your opponent must be on the lookout so that he returns the ball without allowing it to bounce twice. Also, you’ll need to take care not to allow the ball to bounce twice in your court when serving it. So the objective is to hit the ball and let it bounce on the opponent’s side of the table. If they return it, hit it again until they make a mistake to help you earn a point.
Every player can earn a point even when they have not served the ball. A point will be awarded to your opponent if:
- You fail to hit the ball before it bounces for the second time
- Hit the ball, but it bounces on your side
- If you double hit the ball
- If you fail to allow the ball to bounce once in your court after your opponent hits it
- You fail to service the ball correctly.
How Does a Player Score a Point?
When you force your opponent to hit the ball wide, you earn a point. Also, if your opponent hits the ball but ends up on the net, you earn a point. However, your opponent earns a point whenever you fail to make a good serve. An invalid serve is the one that will bounce on your side of the table. If it hits the net and bounces on the other side, it is a let, so you will need to serve it again.
Note that you are not allowed to volley the ball or obstruct it. Also, when you double hit the ball, it earns your opponent a point. Lastly, table tennis considers the lines or edges of the table, but the sides are not.