Can You Hit The Ball Around The Net In Table Tennis?
In table tennis, players must understand and follow the regulations. This is necessary so that you can understand what is and is not appropriate in order to avoid penalties. Is hitting the ball around the net thus legal?
During a point of table tennis, the ball must bounce once on the returner’s side of the table, but the server can hit the ball around the net straight onto the opponent’s court without crossing the net. Therefore, it is legal to hit the ball around the net, whether it’s during a rally or a serve.
In this article, I’ll go over; Table tennis events that are unusual yet legal, how to hold the ball before serving it, If it’s a good point when the ball bounces off the end pole of the net and then bounces off the table, as well as what happens when I serve but miss the ball in table tennis. Continue reading to find out.
Table Tennis Occurrences That Are Uncommon But Legal
According to the International Table Tennis Federation’s official rules, the ball does not have to cross the net.
The ball may also travel beneath the net assembly (the component that protrudes from the table and holds the net in place) as long as it lands on the opponent’s side of the table.
In this situation, the ball can travel beneath the tabletop and up into the opponent’s court.
The ball can not only go under or around the net, but it can also strike it as long as it goes over the net and into the opponent’s court.
Surprisingly, the ball is permitted to roll on the opponent’s side of the table rather than bounce, making a return nearly impossible.
The ball may also travel over the net, bounce backward, and return to the server’s side of the table in an unusual occurrence. To make the shot in this situation, the returner would have to sprint around the table.
Read also: Can The Ball Hit The Net In Table Tennis? (Rule Explained)
Do I Lose The Point If I Serve But Miss The Ball In Table Tennis?
You lose the point if you serve but miss the ball unless the ball is flung up and a let is called nearly quickly. In table tennis, there have never been any regulations that specify what a first serve or second serve is. There is just one serve available (no qualifier).
In that situation, a let would be exceedingly unlikely to be called. The only let that can be called is if the ball is in the air and hasn’t yet dropped below table level, and that disruption must occur in that little moment (probably a second or less) while the ball is in the air and hasn’t yet fallen below table level.
Once the ball has been tossed up, the server can make any motions he wants with his paddle, including a false strike, but he must make contact with the ball after it has started falling from the top of the ball toss and before it reaches the table’s level.
However, in that situation, the server wasn’t actually missing the ball; instead, they were faking it, and the fake action was followed by actual contact with the ball.
According to table tennis regulations, the ball is in play from the moment it is flung up during a serve. The serve begins as soon as the server’s hand moves to initiate the ball toss, and a point is scored.
Is It A Good Point If The Ball Bounces Off The End Pole Of The Net And Then Bounces Off The Table?
According to official table tennis regulations, the net, its suspension, and the supporting posts, including the clamps that secure them to the table, are all considered part of the net assembly. The net assembly is made up of table tennis posts and nets.
To be judged a good hit, the rules state that a ball must cross directly over or around the net assembly and reach the opponent’s court, either directly or after hitting the net assembly, after being served or returned in play.
During a rally, if the ball makes contact with the net assembly but then goes to the opposite side to hit the opposing side, it still counts and must be played.
When a player in traditional table tennis scores a point by striking the table edge or the net assembly, it is customary for them to raise their finger to show their delight.
There is an exception only if the ball touches the net assembly during the serve but still travels over.
If the ball strikes the net assembly while in service, the rally is over, presuming the serve is otherwise good, and the receiver or his share is not obstructing the serve.
Read also: How High Should A Table Tennis Net Be? (Optimal Height)
How Should The Ball Be Held Before Being Served?
The ball shall be put freely on the open palm of the server’s stationary free hand to begin the service, according to Table Tennis Law 2.6.1.
The top right approach is forbidden since the ball is resting on the free hand’s fingers rather than the open palm.
The bottom right method is unlawful since the palm is cupped rather than open. The ball isn’t resting on its own but is held in place by the fingers and the palm’s bottom.
Because the ball is held in the fingers themselves, the bottom left approach is illegal.
The approach from the top left is legal since the palm is open and flat, allowing the ball to sit securely.
Despite the fact that the thumb is over the table, the ball is held behind the endline, making the serve legal.
It is forbidden for a player to take up the ball and serve it without first halting to maintain the free hand immovable.
This service rule prevents the ball from spinning when it is hit into the air. It’s impossible to put a spin on the ball during the serve without the umpire noticing and calling a foul because the ball can’t be gripped.
Learn more: Why Do Table Tennis Players Serve Weird? (Secret Benefits)